Accessibility Tools
Rating Write a Review
520 reviews
  • M. Allen

    5 Star
    2 days ago

    Really great experience! Very knowledgeable and fun to talk with. Highly recommend!

  • A. Hewitt

    5 Star
    2 weeks ago

    Great doctor and medical staff!

  • J. Bailin

    5 Star
    3 weeks ago

    I had a meniscectomy done by Dr. Momaya and I have been pleased with the results. He did a great job and the recovery has been a lot better than expected.

  • D. Driscoll

    5 Star
    3 weeks ago

    Dr. Momaya was fantastic. He was very personable and professional. He communicated every process of the surgery and recovery. Very highly recommended!!!

  • K. Murphree

    5 Star
    4 weeks ago

    Dr. Momaya repaired my bucket handle meniscus tear. He and his team were incredible to work with. From the first appointment - they scheduled me very quickly and described my surgery and recovery in great detail. Post-surgery I had great pain control, PT, and close follow up with Dr. Momaya. If you have to have surgery - this was the best experience. I would highly recommend him to anyone needing ortho surgery!

  • D. Williams

    5 Star
    a month ago

    Very professional and explained my diagnosis to me and informed me of my options to treat it

  • C. Hill

    5 Star
    11-Oct-2023

    Great practice! Dr. Momoya was very receptive and did a great job dealing with my injuries! The nurses, nurse practiciner, PA, and office staff were very professional!

  • L

    5 Star
    04-Oct-2023

    I had a great experience with Dr. Momaya. After injuring my knee, I initially went to a smaller SportMed clinic which correctly identified that I had a meniscus injury but only offered a meniscectomy. After careful research, I scheduled an appointment with Dr. Momaya at UAB. He quickly identified my injury as a bucket handle meniscus tear and suggested we try to repair it rather than remove it, if possible. He was able to repair it and six months later it has fully healed. I'm very thankful I chose Dr. Momaya as my orthopedic surgeon.

  • J. Lacey

    5 Star
    19-Jul-2021

    professional & very nice!

  • J. Reyes

    5 Star
    02-Oct-2023

    Awesome Job done on my left knee by Doctor Momaya. Thank you so much!! I am feeling much better then I was. You did a really great job on the surgery!! Thank you again, Doctor Momaya

  • M. Walsh

    5 Star
    02-Oct-2023
  • T. Elliott

    5 Star
    29-Sep-2023

    Dr Momaya assisted me in re-obtaining dismissed pain in my R Knee. And greatly assisted me with information in obtaining medical care outside of the VA. I would HIGHLY recommend him to any and all Veterans as an outside source from the VA.

  • P. Srofe

    5 Star
    28-Sep-2023
  • K. Livingston

    5 Star
    27-Sep-2023

    3 of the 5 of our children were involved in a drunk driving vehicle accident in Oct. Of 2022. Our boys were thrown 65ft in opposite directions and our youngest, he was 15 at the time, took on the most damage to his body but more so both of his knees. We had the privilege of being under Dr. Momaya's care from Nov 2022 to Sept. 27, 2023. It's been a long and sometimes frustrating road to recovery due to several dislocations while in a brace and a long 3 months in a x-fix. Dr. Momaya and his team worked tirelessly to adjust our boys legs, finding ligament donations and eventually ending in a 10hr surgery. He warned us that our son would most likely never run, jump. He would walk with a slight limp and probably need the use of a cane the rest of his life. Then came PT. In Jan 2022. As of today our son is WALKING with 0 limp, no cane, runs, jumps, was able to obtain his driver's license and is finally back with his friends in school. Dr. Momaya and his team gave us hope when everyone else had given up. Thank you guys from the bottom of our hearts for getting our boy back to us! We will never be able to thank you enough! Dr. Momaya and his staff were always professional, empathetic and kept my son involved in his care from day one. They treated us like humans and not just another patient. We recommend them to everyone. His is a miracle worker! !

  • H. Nam

    5 Star
    23-Sep-2023

    He is a great doctor!!!.

  • M. Perez

    5 Star
    22-Sep-2023

    Dr. Momaya has been absolutely phenomenal. I highly recommend seeing him for any sports medicine needs. He listened intently to my pain/problem and then asked about my lifestyle and goals so he could keep that in mind with my treatment. He was quick to try non-invasive methods first before ultimately in my case suggesting surgery. My recovery time has been absolutely stellar and I think a lot of that has to do with Dr. Momaya keeping my recovery in mind when scoping and surgically repairing my knee (not hacking things up in there and only doing what is necessary). Even physical therapists know which patients were under his care. I look forward to returning to sport and I owe that to Dr. Momaya and his staff, UAB Sports Medicine department, as well as my physical therapist.

  • T. Hurd

    5 Star
    19-Sep-2023

    I can't say enough about Dr. Momaya. I've had four orthopedic surgeries and my experience with him was by far the best. He explained everything very well and helped me decide the best procedure. I asked him to make a game-time decision based on what he saw during surgery (shoulder arthroscopy/torn rotator cuff). He found & removed a lose anchor from a prior surgery, I was out of my sling in 2 days. He even showed my wife the arthoscopic images and walked her through what he did right after so she could do the same with me. It's now 2 weeks out, stiches are removed, and it's nearly 100% healed feeling great. Wonderful experince, Dr. Momaya and his team are rockstars.

  • R. Lee

    5 Star
    19-Sep-2023
  • L. Doby

    5 Star
    19-Sep-2023
  • L

    5 Star
    12-Sep-2023
  • A. Wood

    5 Star
    12-Sep-2023

    Dr. Momaya is a fantastic physician and mentor. I saw him as a patient years ago. He was just as friendly and kind then as he is now. Knowing I was interested in medicine, he was sure to make sure I understood every aspect of my injury and answer any question I had. I stayed connected and have been grateful for every experience. There’s so much to learn and be explained. Whether you’re an undergrad or a medical student, Dr Momaya is a great contact to get involved in shadowing and research! I’ve had incredible opportunities. There’s plenty of support to pursue your orthopedic surgery goals.

  • R. Jayamangalam

    5 Star
    10-Sep-2023

    We reached out to Dr.Momaya to get the second opinion regarding ACL surgery. He was extremely helpful, professional, took time to listen to our concerns and patiently answered all questions. Thanks to his skill & expertise; he made us feel confident about the decision regarding the surgery.

  • D. Marsh

    5 Star
    08-Feb-2020

    Dr. Momaya has done two knee surgeries on me and have done a great job on both knees. Thanks Doc!!

  • J. Cornelius

    5 Star
    01-Sep-2023

    Great visit

  • T. Morrison

    5 Star
    28-Aug-2023
  • A. Merchant

    5 Star
    24-Aug-2023

    Had a pretty terrible Tibial Plateau Fracture earlier this year. Was immediately given an appointment for Dr.Momaya a couple days post injury. From my first appointment to my most recent, I have had an amazing experience with this office. Dr. Momaya takes his time with each of his patients, and explains everything thoroughly in regards to your individual injury. The office is great at communicating and keeping in touch with each of their patients, to make sure they are on the right track to recovery! They respond to portal messages within 24 hours through the portal or a phone call; and are always available to answer questions. I can say that 12 weeks post injury, I feel great and am on my way to a full recovery. I would recommend Dr. Momaya and his office for anyone looking for an amazing orthopedic surgeon in the area 😊

  • E. Hawkins

    5 Star
    18-Aug-2023