Accessibility Tools
Rating Write a Review
397 reviews
  • N. Jackson

    5 Star
    17 hours ago

    I had a great experience with Dr. Momaya. He took the time to find out what was wrong with my left arm and fixed the problem. I am happy with my results. I would highly recommend him. He is very knowledgeable on the latest techniques so you will have a quick recovery.Thank you so much Dr. Momaya for all you done to get me back to myself. Best regards to your future endeavors.

  • L. Moore

    5 Star
    21 hours ago

    Did an ACL surgery and brought my daughter back into playing sports again.

  • J. George

    4 Star
    a day ago

    Dr. Momaya is thorough & pretty informative about what's going to happen & what the patient should expect. Everything has gone as indicated thus far.

  • A. Tate

    5 Star
    a day ago
  • L

    5 Star
    6 days ago

    I had a very unstable shoulder after many dislocations and had the laterjet procedure done by Dr. Momaya. 6 months after surgery and I have had no complications and have regained nearly all range of motion and strength. Highly recommend!

  • L. Bailey

    5 Star
    a week ago

    Dr. Momaya and his staff saved the day! From the day of my injury to 6 months post op, I am closely followed and cared for by the entire team and amazing and supportive physical therapy. They invest in people to seek positive outcomes.

  • C. Keahey

    5 Star
    a week ago
  • A. stewart

    5 Star
    2 weeks ago

    Working with Dr. Momaya as a medical student was a fantastic experience. Throughout my time on sports medicine I was continually impressed by his compassion and diligence towards his patients in a busy clinic. He always took the extra time to make sure his patients were getting the absolute best care possible. He was well read, knowledgeable, and willing to apply the latest treatment techniques to help patients recover more efficiently and effectively. In addition to all of this, he found time to educate me on the intricacies of sports surgery. Overall, a great experience.

  • S. Prahad

    5 Star
    21-Jun-2022

    Dr. Momaya is an outstanding physician. I enjoyed working with him for a month as he sets the gold standard for clinical educators. He is a young, hungry surgeon who is constantly pushing the bar higher for himself and other sports medicine physicians in Birmingham. We are lucky to have him at UAB as he continues to prove his excellence in clinic and in the OR. He is a caring, genuine doctor who treats all of his patients as family.

  • J. Hunt

    5 Star
    2 weeks ago
  • J. Covarrubias

    5 Star
    2 weeks ago

    Dr. Momaya seems to truly care about his patients. He treated us (my husband and me) with respect, listened to what we said, asked questions, wanted to know if we had questions, clearly outlined the next steps, and treated the staff with respect. He performed a small office procedure on my husband's knee that day and informed him of each step he was about to take and what was going on throughout. Despite the circumstances of seeing him due to my husband's knee injury, it was really a pleasure to meet him. My husband said he feels like he's in very confident and capable hands.

  • S. Carvalho

    5 Star
    2 weeks ago

    In April of 2022 I broke my kneecap in a cycling accident. Dr. Momaya was my surgeon and was able to successfully put my knee back together. Without his expertise, advice and caring attitude I don't think I would be back on my bike 4 1/2 months later. Thank you, Dr. Momaya (and staff) for everything you did to get me mobile again!

  • J. Andrews

    5 Star
    3 weeks ago
  • M. Kalousek

    5 Star
    3 weeks ago

    After a traumatic ski accident resulting in tearing my ACL and MCL, I was looking for a surgeon who would ensure that I could get back to my normal active self. Birmingham is known for its renown Ortho shops, and I initially reached out to those big names. However, Dr. Momaya was recommended to me by a friend involved in academic medicine..."He's young and he's into research." That struck me. He approached my case using his clinical knowledge from his personal involvement on the forefront of sports medicine research to engage in shared decision making with me as the patient. I really valued having a surgeon that was invested in being on the cutting edge of the newest, most innovative therapies instead of just doing what's always been done. We decided to proceed with a quadricep tendon autograft approach for my ACL repair, a newer approach that has been showing very promising outcomes; however, that many local surgeons are not yet offering. I am super pleased with my results. Between his and his AT trainer Sarah's emphasis in my "prehab" and making sure I got set up with a great PT for the work thereafter, I am back in the gym and even running again! Can't say enough good things!

  • M. Hedrick

    5 Star
    4 weeks ago

    This was my first experience with sports medicine. My daughter had a fall that resulted in a radial head fracture and sprained UCL in her left elbow. Dr. Momaya and staff were all very professional and friendly, and appointments were timely. X-rays were handled in-office, and they were able to arrange the MRI and physical therapy for my daughter with third-party providers quickly and easily. Under the circumstances, it was a great experience.

  • S. Lowy

    5 Star
    4 weeks ago

    Dr. Momaya is Brilliant ! & add to it that he is so kind & concerned for a patients well bring, His credentials are remarkable. Hie awards are dramatic. Whatever I would need ref Orthopedic, he is the One !

  • H. Gainer

    5 Star
    a month ago

    I was very pleased with care I received from doctors Momaya and Gettinger. I was seen promptly. They explained my condition fully to me and my wife. The procedure was a big help to get the swelling down and get me back to normal. Thank you so much.

  • M. Wittmann

    5 Star
    a month ago
  • D. McKee

    5 Star
    a month ago

    My daughter tore ACL in Dec 2021 and we were referred to Dr. Momaya. Our whole experience has been wonderful. Eight months post operation and therapy, she is ready to start volleyball season!

  • J. Tassone

    5 Star
    a month ago

    Excellent physician and staff I will be referring family and friends! Thanks dr. and staff for your professionalism and cleanliness 10 stars!!

  • R. Owen

    5 Star
    13-Aug-2022

    Our experience with Dr. Momaya was excellent. I can not say enough about the quality of care that he and his staff gave to my son. The staff was so kind-always attentive and thorough in answering my questions. Dr. Momaya is a highly skilled and professional surgeon. He takes his time with explaining the procedure and is very compassionate throughout the process. My son is healing well and I am so thankful! I highly recommended Dr. Momaya and his staff.

  • T. Spencer

    5 Star
    12-Aug-2022

    Dr. Momaya is a great doctor and physician. He proformed my son Kameron Spencer ACL surgery on November 12th 2021. The hard work that my son and the great physical therpaists at Therapy South. He is fully cleared to return to football this season at 9 months.

  • S. Wade

    5 Star
    09-Aug-2022
  • C. Kau

    5 Star
    08-Aug-2022

    Dr Momaya is an excellent Dr. Enjoyed meeting him and took care of me and my problems.

  • J. Keppley

    5 Star
    08-Aug-2022
  • R. norton

    5 Star
    27-Jul-2022

    Dr. Momaya and his staff are outstanding to work with! Best of the best!

  • T. Hopkins

    5 Star
    26-Jul-2022

    Dr. Momaya put my mind at ease! In his hands my son is making a return to high school football after a torn acl. Recovery time has been manageable and informative. I am grateful for his superior service and expertise. He is definitely the best orthopedic surgeon hands down!

  • R. Lutes

    5 Star
    25-Jul-2022

    I had a torn meniscus, a crack bone, a damaged cartage.I was referred to Dr. Momaya , my knee was in severe pain, the Doctor explained my different options,, I decided to go with meniscus repair surgery, I am recovering very well, I would highly recommend Dr Momaya.